North Star Camp for Boys

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Staff Spotlight - Will Hunt

My name is Will Hunt, I am 20 years old and currently living in the south east of England in Hampshire. I am soon to finish my second academic year at Chichester University, where I am studying a BA Hons in Adventure Education. I like staying physically active, where I have taken part in a wide range of sporting activities both adventure based as well as more traditional sports. 

I am lucky enough to have visited many different countries where I have taken part in outdoor activities.  Some of my favourite sports include: Football (soccer), climbing, scuba diving, boating and skiing. After university I am looking to direct my focus on becoming a physical education secondary school teacher, because I enjoy sports as a general whole along with working with younger people. At camp I'll be instructing climbing.

More About Will

What is your dream job?
- This is a difficult one! It would defiantly have to be something sport related as this is what surrounds my life. I am a very big football fan where I have watched, played and enjoyed it from a very young age, so for me becoming a professional football player would be my dream.

A secret hobby or skill you have?
- When I can, I like to cook as much as possible (can't beat some of mums homemade dishes though!).

Your favourite TV character?
- Sheldon - Big Bang Theory.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what three things would you bring?
- survival book, a friend to enjoy the island with, guitar (if i could play).

How did you learn about North Star and why did you apply?
- I was looking at doing a USA summer camp, as I know many people who have been to different camps over the USA and have had some of the best summers of their lives! I them researched a series of organizations that promoted them. In regards to North Star, I really like the philosophy of the camp and the goals they thrive to achieve, where they have an efficient outdoor programme, providing many different activities.

Favourite sports teams?
- I support Ipswich Town Football Club, its fairly near to where I was born in the UK.

What noteworthy/random/menial jobs have you held?
- I worked as a volunteer at my local youth centre for around 3 years, providing different sports like football, cricket, basketball and volleyball for children aged between 7-15/16. For just over 2 years, I worked as a lifeguard at a leisure centre near to where I live and I currently do evening shifts as a barman alongside university.

What did you do last summer?
- I spent a lot of time seeing various friends and family trying to enjoy the warm weather. I also went on holiday with my girlfriend to Fuerteventura in the Canary Islands for 2 weeks. I still tried to stay active playing football with friends, as well as activities like swimming. For some of the summer, I worked as a barman to save as much money as I could before going back to university.

What, if any previous camp experiences have you had?
- I have never had any experience of a summer camp like this, so it will be something that is reasonably new to me. This in turn is making me really look forward to it!