North Star Camp for Boys

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Staff Spotlight - Brody Poss

Brody Poss is another of our first year staff members from Wisconsin. Originally from Appleton, WI, Brody is currently a freshman at the University of Wisconsin - Madison. At UW he's studying engineering. As a kid, Brody went to Camp Nanabosho and always wanted to go back as a counselor. We're glad that he'll have that opportunity at North Star!

Brody is from an outdoors family. As a kid, they went on lots of camping trips. He played football growing up, but also was involved with theater and DECA in high school. Brody has lots of skills and at camp he'll be instructing riflery, football, fishing...and we'll probably find a few other things for him as well!

More about Brody

How did you learn about North Star and why did you apply?
-I learned about Camp North Star via the fishing and hunting club at UW-Madison. I decided that I would apply because when I was younger I attended summer camps and absolutely loved them. I also told myself that I wanted to become a counselor someday and I saw this as my opportunity to live up to a dream I have had since I was 10 years.

What is your dream job
-If I could do anything in the world, my job would be a hunting or fishing guide all over the world.

If you could have lunch with any two people, dead or alive, who would they be?
-If I could have lunch with any two people they would be; Mark Wahlberg and JJ Watt. Mark Wahlberg because he is my favorite actor due to the fact that he can play almost any kind of role and then JJ Watt because I admire his work ethic, compassion and the fact that he is a fellow badger.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you do there?
-If I could travel anywhere in the world I would go to Australia. Once there I would go on a safari and then just go hang out on the beach the rest of the time, while listening to people's awesome Australian accents.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what are three things you'd bring?
-If I were stranded on a deserted island I would bring my fishing pole, my iphone to call for help, and a knife in case there are predators on the island.

What sports team(s) that you root for?
-Well since I attend the University of Wisconsin-Madison, I'm a huge badger fan. I also am a big Packer, and Brewer fan. Any team Wisconsin related I guess.

What noteworthy/random/menial jobs have you held?
-I worked at an inflatable bounce house place for about a year, it was awesome. I raced kids through inflatables and played in the arcade a bunch.

What did you do last summer?
-Last summer was my last one home with all my friends so I spent a lot of time with them. We spent a lot of time up north where we did a lot of fishing, swimming, and skiing. I also spent a week in Las Vegas with my family which was a blast.

What, if any previous camp/outdoor experiences have you had?
-My family has always been a very outdoor friendly family. My dad had me hunting by the age of 9 and I've been fishing since before I can remember. As a family we have gone on many camping trips both living in tents for weeks to living in a cabin for a week. Since I was young I always had a passion for the outdoors, which is a big reason why my mom signed me up for a YMCA summer camp when I was 9. I loved it so much I went 3 more years. I am now an avid outdoors man myself and love to go fishing, hunting, or camping whenever I get the chance.