North Star Camp for Boys

Saturday, May 14, 2016

Staff Spotlight - Cecilia Jaik

Hi my name is Cecilia Jaik (Cecy)  and I am from Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico. I am a marketing major and also a tennis instructor. I like to travel and meet new people. Also I love going to the movies and theatre, hang out with friends, go to the beach or to a karaoke. I like all kinds of music and I love to sing my favorite tunes. I started playing tennis at a very young age and gave my first lesson at 15, as a tennis instructor I specialize in learning techniques for kids so they advance at their own pace. I can’t wait to be there and meet you all.

More about Cecy

How did you learn about North Star and why did you apply?
- I found out about the camp thru my brother Carlos who went there last year and is also returning this year. He told me about the incredible experience it was for him and how fulfilling and fun it was so I had to try too.

If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?
- I think I would choose to be a horse, because of how fast and strong they are when they run and also I believe they have a regal quality and are very noble.

What is your favorite cartoon Character:
- I always thought Cheetara from the tv series Thundercats was so cool.

What is your dream Job:
- I'm living my dream job since I work part time at an advertising business and in the afternoon I give tennis lessons that are my passion.

If you had a super hero power, what would it be:
- If I could choose only one I think it would be flying.

What noteworthy/random/menial jobs have you held?
- I have worked as a saleswoman in a department store, also worked for a company that sells chemical cleaning products.

What are your top three movies of all time:
- Pride and Prejudice, The Matrix (the first one) and Captain America Civil War

What did you do last summer?
- Mostly working, I gave tennis lessons to kids and adults and spent time with family, friends either going to the beach or just hanging out.

What is a little Known fact about yourself:
- Not many people know but I love to read and write poetry, I feel I can express myself better when I'm writing.

What, if any previous camp/outdoor experiences have you had?
- I was a counselor and tennis teacher in the years 2011 and 2012 in another camp in NY and also have camped in the woods and the beach sometimes.