North Star Camp for Boys

Friday, May 13, 2016

Staff Spotlight - George Rizo

I was born in Tijuana Baja California (Mexico) when I was 8 years old I had the opportunity to go to a camp in San Jose California there I had the opportunity to know a facility of the NASA at that moment I told to myself that one day I was going to come back and this is my opportunity and at the age of 12 we moved to Oaxaca and that's where I currently live. My family runs a restaurant that serves dinner and I make much of the food there. I’ll be on the North Star kitchen staff.

More about George

How did you learn about North Star and what did you apply?
- Someone came to my school and talked us about camps in other countries and it seemed interesting. I started my application fortunately north star camp contacted me and I started to get more interested. Then I looked on internet and saw that it was a great camp. I decided to apply because when I was a kid I went to a camp and it left me wonderful experiences and I want to do the same but this  time been on the other side of camp as a staff member

If you could be any animal what would you be and why?
- An eagle, because they seem to be the only animal that fly free in air and besides that they have a wonderful sight and having that would be awesome

What is your favorite cartoon character:
- Bugs bunny, because he is a shrewd, charismatic and intelligent rabbit. These traits are what give it an edge over its enemies, rivals and opponents. And by his famous phrase: "Eh ... what's up, man?" And I love how he trolls the Daffy Duck :-)

What is your dream job:
- I've always wanted to be a police officer but one of the good ones I don't know FBI or something like that.

If you had a superhero power what would it be?
- The superpower of flash. His very fast and you could do lots of thing in a second and know lots of places and don't waste money on trips

What are your top 3 movies of all time: 
- Captain America: Civil War, Back to the Future & Jaws

What did you do last summer:
- I went to visits my family in Nayarit and Tijuana y had 6 years that I had not seen them and I spend all summer with my family

What is a little known fact about you?
- That I love dogs so much that when I see them in the streets sometimes I take them home and give theme food. I have 3 dogs, 2 of them I rescued from the street and now they live at my house. And my cat, I saw it on the street and that day I decided to have a cat and now she’s 2 years old.  In conclusion I love animals

What ,if any previous camp/ outdoor experience have you had?
- When I was 8 years I had the opportunity to go to a camp as a camper and I loved it so much that now I am going, but this time as a staff member.