North Star Camp for Boys

Tuesday, May 10, 2016

Staff Spotlight - Audely Leyva

Audely Leuva comes to camp from Oaxaca, Mexico. She is currently studying languages at the Faculty of Foreign Languages UABJO. After finishing up there she will study another history at the University of Turin in Italy. Audely speaks Italian, Spanish, English and French. She's traveled extensively through Central America and Europe. Her parents own a restaurant in Mexico and she's worked in many different capacities there. We're looking forward to having her join the NSC kitchen staff for her first summer.

More about Audely

How did you learn about North Star and why did you apply?
- The first time I heard about this camp was thanks to 3 adventures (international placement agency). After applying I got an offer. I saw how nice and friendly people seem to be there.

If you could be any animal (besides a human), what would you be and why?
- A wolf, because they are mystical and also something in them make me think about peace and spirituality

What is your favorite cartoon Character:
- I have two from Disney. Pocahontas and Esmeralda from the Hunchback of Notre dame

What is your dream Job:
- I love history and I love languages so my dream job would be work as a translator in an important museum.

If you had a super hero power, what would it be:
- Time Travel , so that way I could see which historical facts were real.

What noteworthy/random/menial jobs have you held?
- My parents own a restaurant so I have been pretty involved with that from helping them in the kitchen, serving people and cleaning tables etc.

What are your top three movies of all time:
- I have to say this TITANIC I love the fact that they involved something historical and something fictional , And I mean I’m a girl of course I like romantic movies. My other two favorite movies are  MalenĂ  produced by  Giuseppe Tornatore, and a British movie called Love Rosie.

What did you do last summer?
- Since 2014 I have been in this web page called couchsurfing. Last summer I didn’t travel outside the country, instead I stayed in my city and hosted people from around the world and I showed them some nice places near my city such as Mitla,Monte Alban, Ixtlan and Capulalpam

What is a little Known fact about yourself:
- I love singing so I could be singing all day if possible. I love legends (about ghosts and stuff like that) so if you wanna hear some let me know .

What, if any previous camp/outdoor experiences have you had?
- This will be my first one in a real camp. Here in Mexico we take some school trips to the mountains and we stay in cabins but only for two or three days. At night we all get reunited in the bonfires to eat  tlayudas (a huge tortilla with beans and cheese) and tell ghost stories.